Thanks to everyone for your input on this. As a first step, we're going to be adding an 'undo' feature when resolving a conversation. Resolving a conversation accidentally will no longer instantly send them to the abyss. Instead, you'll get a few seconds to undo and keep them on the item.
Why are we taking this approach? Well, unresolving conversations brings with it some very complicated logic around what happens to those conversations. In the majority of instances, the content on which a comment was made no longer exists, so there wouldn't be anywhere for that conversation to be restored to. We're currently looking into various avenues which could potentially solve this issue, but in the meantime we hope this undo feature will prevent any future headaches.
See the attached screenshot for what to expect. Thanks!